Shopping Cart
80% of profits donated to UK dog charities. Learn more >

help!

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 16 total)
  • Author

Hi everyone, just wondering if you could help me….
    hope this doesn’t sound cheeky but I am just in the process of starting up my own little business, been working for others and getting as much experience as i can but now I feel i am ready to work for myself.
    As i know a few of you have your own dog businesses i was just wondering if you could tell me abit about the business side of things?
    i am all insured now for my training and walking so thats fine. i have a name but not sure if i need to register it or something? if so who with. i also know i need to declare myself self employed but just not sure how to go about it all!
    any help would be great as im new to this side of things
    :help:

Izzie

You need to let the Inland Revenue know you are starting up  and keep accounts for the year. Best wya to do it is to do a spreadsheet of income and expenses for each month.

Anonymous

Get a web site running and tons of leaflets

getting my leaflets/business cards printed soon  ;D

*Lassie*

No advice but GOOD LUCK  :ok:

Get in touch with inland revenue – one call, easy they will send the rubbish you need – keep records for EVERYTHING, even if it dont seem important or necessary. and go visit an accountant, i have one do mine is so much easier do the spreadsheets she does the rest including fill in my tax return – but thats cos I dont have time to hink let alone fill it in. Even if you dont use an accountant they will normally help show you how to keep the accounts correctly.

mr site i got my webstie through – comes with a free email address too, is good about £35 a year and easy to do.

you dont need to register the business name, but do try and make sure its not to similair to anyone elses (googling will tell you if it is!)