Shopping Cart
80% of profits donated to UK dog charities. Learn more >

Training To Be Calm Around Cats

Home Archive Forums Dogs Advanced Dog Training Training To Be Calm Around Cats

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 33 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous

Hello.

I’m an experienced trainer but I’ve come across a problem I’ve no idea how to solve so wondered whether somebody here could help me out.

The owner’s dog clearly hates cats. The owner wants to be able to take the dog to her mother’s house but because the dog has already gone for her mother’s cat, she’s naturally wary.

Is there any way to train a dog to leave cats alone without actually having to put the cat through the trauma of meeting the dog again before he’s cured?

Thanks,
    Rae

kizkiznobite

hi and welcome  🙂

what breed of dog and what age and where was any basic training started etc

does the dog have leave, recall, stop etc on cue? and if so how reliable is it at what criteria?

did the cat fight or flight last time?

Anonymous

Surly if the leave it cue is in place the dog should leave it come what may ?
    Val

Anonymous

[quote author=kizkiznobite link=topic=8426.msg150356#msg150356 date=1181401196]
    hi and welcome  🙂

what breed of dog and what age and where was any basic training started etc

does the dog have leave, recall, stop etc on cue? and if so how reliable is it at what criteria?

did the cat fight or flight last time?
    [/quote]

Staffy around 2-3 years old (rescue). Basic training was started around 6 months ago.

The dog does have leave and recall but neither are yet 100% reliable. I’d say the dog’s recall is good  but not excellent. He’ll call off around dogs, humans, birds etc but NOT cats. Obviously we have no idea of his past but I’m thinking he may have been sent down the garden to deliberately chase the cats away as his prey drive kicks in immediately he sees a cat and he’s off.

Last time the cat fought (and came off worse).